diamond, custom jewellery, customised jewellery, thea jewelry, french jewellery designer

Explore the secrets of diamonds

When you think of gold jewellery, the first image that comes to mind is certainly that of a jewel set with diamonds and full of sparkle. Of all gems, diamonds are the most prized and precious. If diamonds are so famous today, it's because of their history, but also because of their properties.

The origin of diamonds

The first diamonds were found in India over 3,000 years ago, close to rivers in the Golconde region. It remained the diamond mecca for centuries. India and Indonesia remained the only places where diamonds were mined until 1725. The discovery of America also led to the discovery of large diamond deposits in Brazil.

The word diamond comes from the ancient Greek "adámas", meaning "indomitable". The hardest material in the world, diamonds have always been a complex material for lapidaries to master. Diamonds are highly prized by jewellers. They are made of crystallised carbon, and contrary to what you might think, they come in a wide range of colours.

Diamond classification

Diamonds are classified according to several characteristics. In the trade, these are known as the 4Cs of diamonds. These 4 criteria determine the rarity and price of a diamond.

C for "Cut

Cutting a diamond is one of the most important things you can do. It's how a diamond reveals its brilliance and disperses the rainbow spectrum of light. Because of its great hardness, a diamond must be cut and polished exclusively by another diamond. The main diamond-cutting centres are currently located in Antwerp, Belgium, and Tel Aviv, Israel. The most common cut is the "brilliant" cut, which brings out the diamond's natural brilliance to the maximum.

C for "Color

Diamond colour is a very important characteristic for many jewellery customers. Diamonds are graded on a scale from D to Z, with D being the best quality with a very pure white colour, and Z being the worst quality with a very pronounced colour. This classification is only valid for white diamonds. Other diamonds known as black are graded differently.

C for Clarity

Diamonds, like most other gems, contain inclusions. An inclusion is an impurity; they generally appear in the form of dots or spots that are rarely visible to the naked eye. Diamonds are therefore also graded according to the visibility and number of these inclusions:

  • IF / FL: Absence of internal and surface inclusions at 10x magnification
  • VVS1 / VVS2: Tiny inclusion(s) very difficult to see with a magnifying glass at 10x magnification
  • VS1 / VS2 : Very small inclusion(s) difficult to see with a magnifying glass at 10x magnification
  • SI1 / SI2 / SI3 : Small inclusion(s) easily visible with a magnifying glass at 10x magnification
  • I1 / I2 / I3: Large and/or numerous inclusions visible to the naked eye

C for Carat

Caratage refers to the weight of a diamond and is without doubt the best-known criterion. 1 carat is equivalent to 0.20 grams. The name carat comes from the name of the seed of the "kuara" tree. This seed has the particularity of always having the same weight. It was therefore widely used in the gold and diamond trade. It is also the criterion that most influences the price: the value of a diamond is exponential according to its caratage. A 2-carat diamond will not be twice as expensive as a 1-carat diamond, but much more, since they are rarer and the loss during cutting is higher.

 

At Thea Jewelry, we use HSI quality stones for all our diamond-set creations. This quality offers a perfect balance between colour, clarity and cut. HSI diamonds are diamonds that have a slight tint of colour, inclusions visible under magnification (x10), but are well cut to maximise their brilliance. These diamonds offer excellent value for money, as they look good without the higher cost of diamonds with no tint and no inclusions.

 

Create my own jewel with diamonds

diamant, bijou personnalisé, bijou personnalisable, bijou sur mesure, thea jewelry, créateur de bijou français

Explorez les secrets du diamant

Si on vous parle de bijou en or la première image que vous avez en tête, est certainement celle d’un bijou serti de diamants avec plein d’éclat. De toutes les gemmes, les diamants sont les plus prisés et les plus précieux. Si le diamant est aujourd’hui tant célèbre, c’est grâce à son histoire, mais aussi ses propriétés.

L’origine du diamant

Les premiers diamants ont été trouvés en Inde il y a plus de 3 000 ans, proches de cours d’eau dans la région du Golconde. Elle est restée le haut lieu du diamant pendant des siècles. L’Inde et l’Indonésie sont restées les seuls lieux d’extraction de diamants jusqu’en 1725. Suite à la découverte de l’Amérique, cela a aussi donné lieu à la découverte de grands gisements de diamants au Brésil.

Le mot diamant vient de « adámas » en grec ancien qui signifie « indomptable ». Matière la plus dure au monde, le diamant a toujours été une matière complexe à maitriser pour les lapidaires. Les diamants sont très prisés par les bijoutiers joailliers. Ils sont constitués de carbone cristallisé, et contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait penser ils existent dans une palette de couleurs très variées.

La classification des diamants

Les diamants sont classés en fonctions de plusieurs caractéristiques. Dans le milieu, on appelle ça les 4C du diamant. Ce sont ces 4 critères qui font la rareté et le prix d’un diamant.

C pour « Cut »

La taille du diamant est l’une des choses les plus importantes. C’est grâce à elle que le diamant révèle son éclat, et disperse le spectre arc-en-ciel de la lumière. En raison de sa grande dureté, un diamant doit être taillé et poli exclusivement par un autre diamant. Les principaux centres de taille de diamants se trouvent actuellement à Anvers, en Belgique, et à Tel-Aviv, en Israël. La taille la plus courante est la taille “brillant”, qui met en valeur au maximum la brillance naturelle du diamant.

C pour « Color »

La couleur du diamant est une caractéristique très importante pour nombre de clients dans la bijouterie. Les diamants sont notés sur une échelle de D à Z, D étant la meilleure qualité avec un blanc très pur, Z étant la moins bonne avec une couleur très marquée. Cette classification n’est valide que pour les diamants blancs. Les autres diamants que l’on connaît comme le noir sont notés différemment.

C pour « Clarity »

Les diamants comme la majorité des autres gemmes, contiennent des inclusions. Une inclusion est une impureté, elles apparaissent généralement sous forme de points ou de tâches rarement visibles à l’œil nu. Les diamants sont donc aussi notés en fonction de la visibilité de ces inclusions et de leurs nombres :

  • IF / FL : Absence d’inclusions internes et de surface avec un grossissement de 10 fois
  • VVS1 / VVS2 : Minuscule(s) inclusion(s) très difficilement visible(s) à la loupe avec un grossissement de 10 fois
  • VS1 / VS2 : Très petite(s) inclusion(s) difficilement visible(s) à la loupe avec un grossissement de 10 fois
  • SI1 / SI2 / SI3 : Petite(s) inclusion(s) facilement visible(s) à la loupe avec un grossissement de 10 fois
  • I1 / I2 / I3 : Grande(s) et/ou nombreuses inclusion(s) visible(s) à l’œil nu

C pour « Carat »

Le caratage désigne le poids du diamant et c’est sans doute le critère le plus connu. 1 carat équivaut à 0.20 grammes. Le nom carat vient du nom de la graine de l’arbre « kuara ». Cette graine a pour particularité d’avoir toujours le même poids. Elle fut donc très utilisée pour le commerce d’or et de diamant. Il est aussi le critère qui influence le plus le prix, la valeur d’un diamant est exponentielle en fonction de son caratage. Un diamant de 2 carats ne sera pas 2 fois plus chers qu’un diamant de 1 carat, mais bien plus encore, puisqu’ils sont plus rares et que la perte lors de la taille du diamant est plus élevée.

 

Chez Thea Jewelry, nous utilisons pour toutes nos créations sertis de diamants des pierres de qualité HSI. Cette qualité offre un équilibre parfait entre couleur, pureté et taille. Les diamants de qualité HSI sont des diamants qui présentent une légère teinte de couleur, des inclusions visibles sous grossissement (x10), mais qui sont bien taillés pour maximiser leur éclat. Ces diamants offrent un excellent rapport qualité-prix, car ils présentent une belle apparence sans le prix plus élevé des diamants sans teinte et sans inclusions.

 

Créer mon bijou avec des diamants