RJC Thea Jewelry

Everything you need to know about the Responsible Jewlery Council label

You've probably never heard of the term Responsible Jewelry Council, or you don't even know what it is. Today, we're going to clear up any doubts and give you a clear explanation of what it is:

 

What is the Responsible Jewellery Council?

Founded in 2005, the Responsible Jewellery Council, or RJC, is a not-for-profit organisation whose aim is to promote and certify responsible, ethical and environmental practices by companies throughout their gold and diamond supply chains.

In other words, the RJC ensures respect for people and the environment throughout the jewellery-making process.

 

Who can obtain RJC certification?

RJC certification is voluntary, and any company can apply for it. To date, there are nearly 450 members, 310 of whom are certified.

 

How is this certification awarded?

This certification is awarded following a strict audit, guaranteeing compliance with the RJC "Code of Practice". The audit covers responsible sourcing, respect for human and workers' rights, social and environmental behaviour, and the management systems in place.

 

How long does this inspection last?

The audit required to obtain this certification is spread over a period of 3 years. This requirement represents a major challenge for many manufacturers, which explains why so few have succeeded in obtaining this label!

 

The importance of the Responsible Jewellery Council :

It is important to stress that RJC certification is not just a marketing ploy. At Thea Jewelry, although we do not communicate much about this certification, our manufacturing workshop has been certified since January 2014.

As you know, our commitment to practices that respect the environment and people has been in our DNA since the beginning. That's why we're also proud to offer you only recycled gold and diamonds that are not sourced from Kimberley Process-assured conflict zones.

 

Does the "Code of Practice" evolve over time?

The RJC "Code of Practice" is regularly updated (every 3 years) to meet today's environmental, social and ethical challenges.

Now you know all about the RJC. Later, as soon as you come across the term "RJC", you'll know that it's a guarantee of confidence!

See you soon 🙂

RJC Thea Jewelry

Tout savoir sur le label Responsible Jewlery Council

Vous n’avez surement jamais entendu le terme de Responsible Jewelry Council, ou vous ignoriez totalement de quoi il s’agit. Aujourd’hui, nous allons enlever les doutes et vous expliquer clairement en quoi il consiste :

 

Qu’est-ce que le Responsible Jewellery Council ?

Fondé en 2005, le Responsible Jewellery Council, ou RJC, est une organisation à but non lucratif ayant pour but de promouvoir et de certifier les pratiques responsables, éthiques et environnementales des entreprises sur l’ensemble de leurs chaînes d’approvisionnement d’or et de diamants.

En d’autres termes, le RJC assure le respect des humains et de l’environnement tout au long du processus de création de bijoux.

 

Qui peut obtenir la certification RJC ?

La certification du RJC est une démarche volontaire, n’importe quelle entreprise peut faire une demande pour l’obtenir. À ce jour, près de 450 membres, dont 310 sont certifiés.

 

Comment est délivrée cette certification ?

Cette certification est attribuée à l’issue d’un audit strict, garantissant le respect du “Code des Pratiques” du RJC. L’audit porte sur l’approvisionnement responsable, le respect des droits de l’homme et des travailleurs, les comportements sociaux et environnementaux, ainsi que sur les systèmes de management mis en place.

 

Quelle est la durée de ce contrôle ?

L’audit nécessaire pour obtenir cette certification s’étale sur une période de 3 ans. Cette exigence représente un défi de taille pour de nombreux fabricants, expliquant ainsi pourquoi si peu d’entre eux ont réussi à obtenir ce label !

 

L’importance du Responsible Jewellery Council :

Il est important de souligner que la certification RJC ne constitue pas un simple argument marketing. Chez Thea Jewelry, bien que nous communiquions peu sur cette certification, notre atelier de fabrication a été certifié depuis Janvier 2014.

Vous le savez, notre engagement en faveur de pratiques respectueuses de l’environnement et de l’humain est ancré dans notre ADN depuis le début. C’est pourquoi nous sommes aussi fiers de vous proposer uniquement de l’or recyclé ainsi que des diamants qui ne sont pas issus des zones de conflits assuré par le Processus de Kimberley.

 

Est-ce que le « Code des Pratiques » évolue au fil du temps ?

Le “Code des Pratiques” du RJC est régulièrement mis à jour (tous les 3 ans) pour répondre aux défis environnementaux, sociaux et éthiques de nos jours.

Maintenant, rien ne vous échappe à propos du RJC. Plus tard, dès que vous rencontrerez le terme de « RJC », vous saurez qu’il s’agit d’un gage de confiance !

A très vite 🙂